What I Learned from a 40-day Facebook fast

A couple days ago I decided to stop using Facebook for the rest of the semester to focus on the outside world and my studies. Today, Monday, October 17, 2016, I deactivated my Facebook for the next two months while I’m in school. Here I’ll chronicle my journey.

Day 1 (October 17th): I deactivated it before class this morning and so far I’m doing okay. I still can use Messenger and I’m still active on my other SM platforms.
November 10th: Now that I’ve been off FB for almost a month, I realize that I really don’t miss it. I’ll still reactivate it after the semester is over, but I probably won’t be as addicted to it.

November 29th: I caved and reactivated it a little early. I have two more assignments and a final, and my second-to-last assignment, an oral report, I’m completely ready for and am doing tomorrow. The last one isn’t due til December 11th.

So, what have I learned?

  1. Life is much less stressful without it. Being on it all the time meant I saw everyone’s drama and things I didn’t agree with but knew speaking up about it would lead to conflict.
  2. It’s a big distraction. Sure, I still have distractions, but it’s one less.
  3. Facebook really wasn’t as hard to detach from as I was expecting it to be.

Now I will admit, I did cheat a little bit. I have a second account for online friends and while I forgot about it for the first month, I did use it (very sparingly, and mainly for chat purposes) a few times before officially rejoining Facebook. Otherwise, pretty clean break, and I survived. The world didn’t end. I think I’ll be okay.

Have an opinion? Comment!

