STORYTIME: Catfished by my bestie

I’m doing something a tad different today, similar to the story I told about ‘Tyler’ awhile back. This is super cringey, so once again I’ve changed the main character’s name. This is the time my bestie catfished me for a summer.

I had formed a friendship with someone at my elementary school in 2006. Let’s call her Sally. Sally was a grade behind me in school, so she was about to start middle school when I was going into 8th grade (our middle school only did 7th/8th grade; 6th was in elementary). That should’ve been the first clue she was lying about what came later,  but I’ll get to that.

In 2008, I was, as a lot of girls my age were, obsessed with the Disney Channel. I had developed a crush on a Jonas Brother (Joe, if you’re wondering), and of course I had gone through a short phase of wanting to be a pop star like Miley Cyrus. Cringey, I know. I was a bit immature though, since I was about to start 8th grade and most girls have outgrown it at that point.

This was what came up when Sally came over for a sleepover one day early that summer. She and I were swimming and she mentioned her dad was pretty high in music and that she had met a certain group of celebrities from the aforementioned Disney Channel. I won’t say who, but it shouldn’t take a rocket scientist to figure it out based on the info I’ve provided.

She mentioned she was dating one of the boys from this group, and for some reason I believed her, even though he was likely graduated by then and she wasn’t even in middle school yet. I had a huge crush on the brother of one of the girls, so she ‘hooked me up’ with him.

The details on this are a bit blurry, so I don’t remember dates or details as well with this as I did with my Tyler story, but I know later in the summer, somehow my parents found out about what was going on and told me to A. Stop spreading it around and B. Stop talking to Sally if that’s how things were going to be. They read my emails and found out I was talking about it to a friend I’d almost lost contact with when I moved and spied on me for awhile before grounding me when I didn’t shut up about it.

Despite this, I didn’t stop, and it dragged on for awhile. My ‘boyfriend’ cheated on me and I ended up with someone else, someone directly in the group. That dragged on for awhile. By ‘a while’ I mean it kind of lasted until that Christmas, though I still haven’t figured out if that was wishful thinking or if I really did think it was true for that long.

In the end, it died down on its own and just went away. I moved on to crushing on a boy at school and we never talked about it again. I alluded to it once, but other than that, not another word from either of us to anyone. I never did find out why she did it. I went on for pages and pages in my journal about it, chronicling it start to finish, but never did figure that out. One of those forever unanswered questions I guess.

Have an opinion? Comment!

