Why I Bow My Head During Prayer

I struggled with my faith for 2 years before I became an atheist last November. And yet, despite not believing that anyone is listening, I still bow my head during prayer.

Before I explain why, let me just say that if you believe in God, that’s your decision. I’m not going to stop you or judge you. It’s not my place to tell you what to believe.

Which brings me to the why. I don’t bow my head because I believe someone is listening. I do it out of respect for those around me. I don’t want to be a distraction for anyone.

If you want to pray, pray. I’ll bow my head and let you do that if I’m there. But please, don’t get upset if I don’t join in. It’s not in my nature to pretend to be something I’m not.

2 thoughts on “Why I Bow My Head During Prayer

  1. I know how difficult it was for you to find who you were and to be that despite what everyone around you though. I’m very proud of you. You’re strong even if you don’t agree. ❤️

    • Thanks so much. I’ve really appreciated your support through all of this. You’ve been the most supportive person I’ve had in my life through all of this.

Have an opinion? Comment!

